Hayduke Day 37: A is for Spaaaaciousness

If I just had one more hour in the day.

^ I can’t recall a specific moment I’ve had that thought, but I know the achy-want of it. Not so much recently, though. There’s much less achy-want for time when I’m free of my google calendar, which at home might direct — I don’t know — 10 of 15 waking hours? Regardless of wanting or not wanting an extra hour, I get one today. When we crossed into Arizona, the timezone shifted to Pacific Time.

How arbitrary!

Nothing has changed about the suns movement (beyond its slow march towards solstice, slipping in another minute or so of sunlight each day). But the hour we assign to its movement has changed, and so too, the way I hold it.

When I blink my eyes open, my watch says 5am. I feel fully rested and indulge in the irresistible story that I’m somehow “good” for waking up early. How arbitrary! The bonus hour gives me permission to sit and meditate. Meditation: another daily color coded block on my google calendar. I haven’t been doing much seated meditation out here. I haven’t needed the formal practice. Regardless of whether I’m sitting or walking or filtering water, awareness has felt close-in. This morning I sit more formally. I notice birds, breathing and thinking. Then Weekend and I leisurely pack up.

Back on route, the easy going miles continue! We decide that today, ‘A’ is for Spaciousness. It’s that spacious 😉 The trail winds through sparse ponderosa pine forests and sage brush flats. The well maintained AZT miles melt like butter.

How long will it feel so easy? The North Kaibab Plateau ahead of us is snow bound; part of the reason we’re skipping ahead to Zion. I keep bracing myself for snow drifts to start surfacing as we near Jacobs Lake. I don’t see any snow worth reporting (must be melting fast). But I do see a Kaibab Squirrel! With its big fluffy white tail curled into a question mark. Kaibab squirrels live nowhere else in the world; only here on the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. How neat!

Didn’t get a picture of the squirrel, but here is her likeness on this trail marker

When we hit Highway 89a later today, we’ll head into town. On past trails, town days have been the kind of days where I hike without breaking or eating. The pull of the vortex! So strong! Lately, Weekend and I are trying out a new arrangement. Instead of racing ravenously towards town, we’ve been taking a long break just shy of whatever road crossing we’re planning to hitch down. A pre-town cool down. It’s made town entry less hectic. So this afternoon we break hard. We explode our packs, hydrate rice and beans, wave at the truck that trundles past, and chat with a trail runner. Spaciousness!

When we get to Highway 89a, we poke our heads over to the other side and find the snow we’ve heard so much about. Headed south from the trailhead it looks like post hole hell; deep snow glistening with melt under a blazing sun. Good thing we’re headed into town.

Cue our friend, Yeti! He appears at the trailhead and shuttles us straight to Kanab. We check into the Sun n Sand motel and the rest of the night feels like a languorous exhale. Shower. Friendly dinner with the gang (Yeti, Melanie + Silver). A good long sit on plastic chairs in front of the motel room. We journal and sigh and watch the motel’s florescent lights buzz and wink back and forth with the stars.

Leave a comment